A missions ministry of churches of Christ in Brazil

   From here you can subscribe to the Brazil list ~ search this site ~ browse the topics

 

A Time for Tears

by Randal Matheny

[NOTE: This is on my weblog also, but since it has to do with our work as well, I thought it bore repeating here.]

Four teary friends this morning at our weekly first-day meeting must be a record.

First, Valeria tells me after my message that I must have been inspired; the lesson made her cry. She promised to tell me later why she found my words so fitting. So my curiosity hangs in suspense.

Then her husband Otavio makes a few announcements at the end and, when he mentions that Marcel and Marlucia will be returning to Fortaleza next Sunday, gets choked up. Otavio and Marcel go a long way back.

During the always-animated chat afterwards, Marlucia can't hold it back and weeps as various ones kiss and hug her as they file out.

Tomorrow Robson enters a clinic for two months to help him overcome an addiction problem. His wife Luciana is content to see him finally making the effort. His mother Margarida, on one of her rare visits to our midst, had asked for prayers for her family and sons. As the group encourages them, her face contorts in fear and concern and her eyes, ever searching for comfort, pour out streams of tears.

Intelligent, observant, and inquisitive, four-year-old Rafael isn't crying, though. (When Vicki and I would go to their house, he was always tell on his parents when they had been fighting.) I call him over, sit down to talk man-to-man, and tell him that if he ever needs anything while his dad is away, to call me.

"Here, let me give you my card," I offer, as I zip open my fanny pack.

"Is this your home phone number?" he asks.

"It's got both numbers there," I point out. "If you need me you call, all right?"

"Okay, I will." He hops down and off he goes. He's already missed out on a lot of play with the other kids.

comment     ... subscribe
 
online for 8032 Days
last updated: 7/1/14, 10:34 AM
Your Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
July
New Additions
New: church of Christ in
São José dos Campos, Brazil The site at the link...
by randal (7/1/14, 10:34 AM)
New domains GoSpeak ministry (new
name for BZeal): http://gospeak.org Church of Christ in São José...
by randal (10/3/13, 9:47 AM)
Reporting went here When we
gained our own URL, we left the antville service. Be...
by randal (7/8/09, 2:23 PM)
doctrine, the Faith and the
gospel To all who seek His coming I would like...
by shaggydoc46 (1/24/05, 10:49 PM)
Job is finished! Beth wrote
the following today: "I have been off line for quite...
by randal (11/8/04, 5:41 PM)
November report: 'The Jesus We
All Need' BZeal http://bzeal.antville.org Zeal for God's house [You are...
by randal (11/2/04, 3:14 PM)
An Encouraging Note We're behind
on our reports, but look for them very soon. Yesterday...
by randal (9/21/04, 10:33 AM)
Which missionary or field to
select? Two articles appeared before me recently on selecting a...
by randal (9/10/04, 4:13 PM)
Indian Government Requires Reroofing After
Disaster UPDATE: 10 Sept. 2004 The old dorm roof was...
by randal (9/10/04, 12:58 PM)
Milestone Conference This from the
World Convention's Christianet:From October 27-29, leaders of Christian Churches/ Churches...
by randal (9/8/04, 8:55 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher